Something New; Something Different

One of my foodie “problems” is that I have a hard time deciding what I want to ear.

This happens at home when I try to come up with a great idea for dinner. We seem to eat the same meals over and over. Of course, I don’t get into cooking like I used to and we are trying to eat more healthfully and as far as cooing goes, I’ve become lazy.

The issue also arises when I have to decide where to eat out. Again, we seem to eat at the same places again and again. Chalk that up to laziness as well.

So the other day when I saw a posting on Facebook for a place called Tumerico, I was intrigued. I put it on my “to do” list.

Today I tried decided to give Tumerico a try.

Located on 6th Street just east of Tucson Boulevard the place was easy to find thanks to a large sign over the door. I was even able to find a parking spot right in front.

They boast they used local food with an emphasis on vegan/vegetarian cuisine. The daily menu is posted on a chalkboard with maybe six items in total. dscn2489I don’t know how often the menu changes but I got the feeling that the basic items don’t change, but the prep might (or maybe it’s the other way around).

Either way the place was packed. The space is tiny but still as I stood in line to order my food I hoped I’d be able to get a table.

I ordered the green chile tamal plate. dscn2488They had a butternut squash tamal plate as well.

The food was at the table in a time frame that indicate that the dish was prepared to order.

I have to say I was impressed.

The two smallish tamales were not served in a husk, but had been spent a turn on a griddle rendering them a golden brown crisp and yet they were creamy and popped with corn flavor.They were topped with a chunky salsa and a large dollop of fresh guacamole.

On the plate was a mess of undressed greens, black beans, tiny cubes of butternut squash and bigger cubes of potatoes.

Each element was truly tasty, especially the black beans, which had been seasoned just slightly taking them into another level of flavor. Many times black beans are pretty much ignored in the kithcen; here they were anything but.

Since they are only open for extended lunch hours and are near the University, I think they will do well. I don’t know how long Tumerico has been open. But I do know I will returnDSCN2488.JPG