Good Reads about Food

Apologies for not posting but the muggy days of a Tucson summer are making me very lazy. I’m not complaining, I love monsoon season (and this year we’ve had a monsoon season that rivals the good old days.)

Add to the fact that two out of three restaurant meals have been less than stellar and there just hasn’t been that much to write about.

We have been cooking at home more and I’ve thought about posting something about that, especially because we’ve been dipping into some dishes that I grew up eating.

In fact, one day we had two family favorites at lunch and dinner. I made zucchini fritters DSCN1832.JPGfor lunch and John made stuffed peppers for dinner. DSCN1967

My mom was a great cook, but she was a mom of the ‘60’s and made recipes created by food companies for ease and convenience. The peppers use Campbell’s minestrone soup. Okay, so the fritters was her recipe or a family one. Either way, I love zucchini done this way.

I won’t mention the names but with the old favorite the food was disappointing with a general feeling that corners are being cut and the results are glaring. We were in great company though. The friends we dined with people have been friends for longer than we’ve been married. I am lucky to have such great friends. Lucky, lucky, lucky!

This weekend I also got two books I ordered earlier this week.

One being, “Extra Virgin”, the cookbook from the show of the same name. Actress Debi Mazur and her husband, Gabriele Corcos make such fabulous food on the show, which is shown in repeats on the Cooking Channel. extravirgin

I have big plans for the book.

The other is a book I’ve been wanting to read since I heard about it a couple of months ago. Called “somethingtofoodabout’ and written by Questlove, the drummer of the Roots – the house band on Jimmy Fallon show.questlove

What Questlove traveled around America and interviewd – although these are more conversations than interviews – chefs, asking them about creativity and innovation in food. Food meaning the restaurant business, their beginnings, the current scene and the future of food. The photos are stunningly artistic.

Throughout the book Questlove compares their work to music. So far, I’ve found the book fascinating. I find Questlove to be fascinating. His talents reach beyond playing music. He feels the music. He hears the music in a unique way. He’s a producer with dozens of artistic pursuits. And his passion for his craft/art carries over to his entire life. I could do a whole post on just him.

I love listening to artists and craftspeople talk about the creative process. I really can’t explain how the deeply I am affected when I hear or read about how people create. I am inspired. I am humbled. I feel weak at the knees.

Anyway, I was hoping to linger over the book but that isn’t happening so far.

I will post when I finish (and maybe even when I make a dish or two from the cookbook.)