Thought for Food

A few foodie musings……
My new favorite food related program is “Extra Virgin” with Debi Mazur and her husband. Gabriele Corcos. The show is on The Cooking Channel and is in the fifth season. Better late than never, I always say.
They make the most amazing Italian, more precisely. Tuscan food. They also explore New York’s neighborhood and the surrounding area.

extravirgin
I’ve always loved Mazur. She’s smart, quirky and talented, although I can’t get into that new program she’s on, “Younger”.
Gabriele is a chef from Tuscany, need I say more?
They’ve got a new show coming up called. “Extra Virgin America” where they travel all over the country with their two daughters.
I am totally onboard and can’t wait to do some serious flashbacking with the original program.

Another thought: I am always amazed when a restaurant, or any small business for that matter, does poor job of marketing. I see it all the time: no advertising, lack of notification for special events, little participation in community activities.
I really don’t get it. It doesn’t matter how good your product is, you’ve got to pound your drum loudly and at every chance you get. No one else is going to do it for you. There has to be a budget for advertising because relying on word of mouth will only get you so far.
My foodie friends and I talk about it often.
What brought that to mind today was that just yesterday in the Tucson Weekly there was a blurb about a Spanish wine dinner at Ermanos Craft Beer and Wine Bar, a wine bar on Fourth Avenue in Tucson.
The dinner is TONIGHT!
I love Spanish wines and the $25.00 price is reasonable so had I known I would’ve planned to go.spanish-wine I didn’t see the notice anywhere. Now maybe, I missed it or maybe it was the Weekly’s fault for not posting in sooner or who know’s?
I’ve only been to Ermanos once and loved the offerings and the vibe. And I know it’s a popular spot on the Ave. So maybe it’s me, but like I sad this is just some random thoughts.

Lastly, we had a fabulous time at the Heirloom Farmer’s Market on Sunday. I’ve raved about this market before and again can’t say enough about what a gem this is. The team runs several other markets all over the city. They truly know what they are doing.

 

The weather was beautiful, there was a visit by one of the famous Clydesdale horses, people remarked how they’d seen the book in the Arizona Star on Thursday and other noted how much they liked the book. One guy told us that the book had sparked interesting conversation in his family. Another man bought it as a gift for his wife’s birthday. The whole experience was validating.