Za’Atar – What people are saying is true!

People are raving about Za’Atar, a tiny Mediterranean restaurant and bakery located in the former El Taco on Country Club and Glenn.
After my visit on Saturday, I have to say that all that praise is well deserved.DSCN1972
There aren’t but a half-dozen tables inside; the few that are outside sit practically in the parking lot. The majority of the space is taken up by a gigantic open oven, which on Saturday was being tended by an older man who didn’t stop working the entire time I was there. He was pita, cheese bread and an assortment of sweet breads and breads I didn’t know. DSCN1973
What a show! I had to take some home. I am not sure what kind of bread it was, but hot from the oven it was heavenly!
For lunch I ordered the chicken shawarma plate. The portion was huge and it came with rice, a big, leafy salad and tatziki. The chicken was perfectly seasoned with a nice char form the grill. I made sure i had a bit of rice and tatziki sauce with every bite – both were fab.DSCN1971
I finished it off with some baklava.
Service was tops and the place was busy the whole time I was there.
I’m going back!DSCN1970