A New Venture!

Back when the Tucson Weekly had their biannual YUM! issues, I wrote a series of three articles about bygone restaurants in Tucson.
For the most part, they were met with success because dining out has a way of holding special memories even if the meal happened years prior.
Two weeks ago I received and email from The History Press. Megan Laddusaw asking if I would be interested in writing a book on the topic of Lost Restaurants of Tucson.
I was shocked and thrilled because I’ve always wanted to write such a book.
Some people might it’s weird to write a book about closed restaurants. But the history of a city’s restaurants is like a history of the city itself. Many of today’s chefs in Tucson got their start at these restaurants and Tucson’s dining scene would be totally different without having worked at these places. The menus reflect the culture of the times. The food served is the basis for food served today; in fact, some retro meals are making a comeback on today’s menus.
I wrote a proposal. And on Wednesday I got the go ahead. The contract is in the mail. I am going to be writing a book about the Lost Restaurants of Tucson. It will be a part of the History Press’s American Palate series.
There will be a lot of work involved but I’m looking forward to talking with all the great culinary people in Tucson.

3 comments

  1. Nancy Reeves · March 29, 2015

    Thats very cool. Congratulations!

    Like

  2. maoffer13 · March 29, 2015

    Congratulations on your new venture, Rita. It sounds like a very fun project, except for not being able to eat at the great restaurants you’ll be writing about. What a gift to your community!

    Like

  3. ritaconnelly · March 29, 2015

    Thanks Mary Ann!

    Like

Comments are closed.