And Now For Something Completely Different

Breakfast is not my go-to meal. My stomach usually wakes up a couple hours after I do. Cold pizza? Sure. Fried eggs? Not so much.
But when Renee Kreager of Renee’s Organic Oven asked me to be a part of a taste test of her new breakfast menu, I couldn’t say no. After all, Renee is known for her tasty pizzas and her enthusiasm for creative takes on the healthful foods.
The first item to arrive was the house Bloody Mary. The menu says it’s “spicy” and this cocktail is just that. But what made this drink work was how light the tomato juice is, not at all like that thick pulpy stuff you usually get.
Light was a word that came to mind with all of the dishes I sampled, even the biscuits and gravy! I’m not sure how they do it but the gravy was creamy and even after chowing down on the whole thing, I didn’t feel bloated or sleepy.
Another twist was the Breakfast Pizza. This dish is really one of my favorites but it’s usually served as dessert at ladies’ luncheons. The sweet crust crackled when I cut it. The fruit had been macerated. In between, there was a creamy spread (cream cheese, maybe?) (I wish I’d stolen a menu.)
Another cocktail, the A & M was built with vodka, cold brewed coffee, mole bitters and vanilla. It reminded me of a not-so-sweet Bailey’s.
I didn’t get a picture of the sweet potato porridge which consisted of a mix of millet and sweet potato. The texture was reminiscent of grits only more sophisticated. It’s available with the sausage gravy if you’d like.
The final dish was the Savory Tart. This dish exemplified what I think is Renee’s philosophy – different, prepared with thought, healthful and pretty. Not to repeat myself but the crust was light but had some substance.
I only wish Renee’s was closer to home. The items I tasted are just a few of what Renee has planned. You’ll also find quiches, breakfast board, pizzas and more. This food will make you look at breakfast in a whole new way.
Breakfast will be served Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 10:45 a.m.
If things so well weekends will soon be a part of the mix.
Here’s wishing Renee’s Organic Oven the best. I have no doubt these unique breakfast will soon have a big following.