Regrets, I Have a Few…….

As a kid I wouldn’t have eaten eggplant if you had paid me. The name, the color, everything about it was “gross.”
My grandmother was famous for her caponata, which she made in a large crock and then kept in the basement. The whole house would be filled with the aromas of olive oil and herbs as the caponata rested in the dark, cool cellar. But in spite of the wonderful smells, neither I or any of the other grandchildren would touch it.
Adults on the other had felt couldn’t wait. When the word got out that she had made a batch people came from miles hoping to get bite.
Nana never shared the recipe and after she died all of her kids tried to replicate the recipe usually with disastrous results and often ending an argument or two.
I have few regrets in my life but not eating Nana’s caponata is one of them. I really think, had I tasted it, I would be able to recreate the dish.
I must be satisfied with my eggplant Parmesan, which I have to admit is pretty damn good.

2 comments

  1. Nate Mack · February 17, 2015

    Yum!!! Awesome blog Rita! It is 7am and my mouth is still watering. Looking forward to the next trip to Tucson to eat at all my favorite places!

    Like

    • ritaconnelly · February 17, 2015

      indeed,Nate! Can’t wait to see you guys.

      Like

Comments are closed.